Middle School

Val Vista Academy offers an engaging, well-rounded education that strives to meet the individual needs of every learner. This philosophy includes a STEM-infused curriculum (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.) We believe that providing the building blocks during early education will help our students foster and prepare for the technology-driven world we now live in.

Students will participate in a specials-based class daily (P.E., Technology, Music, Spanish, or Library/Community Service) that allows them to explore more challenging and topic-specific content in that specialty area.

- Math:

Pearson enVision

- Science:

Discovery Science (K-8)

- Social Studies

Pearson enVision: is a comprehensive mathematics curriculum with superior focus, coherence, and rigor. Ensure success at every level with problem-based learning, embedded visual learning, and personalization to empower every teacher and student.

Social Studies: emphasizes the exploration of geography, history and current events. Social Studies concepts are often taught in conjunction with ELA standards, such as informational reading and research skills. We use both Harcourt and McGraw Hill texts to support learning. Use of primary source documents, video, discussion, and other relevant sources are also integral to the program.

Discovery Education Science connects students to their inner curiosity by placing them at the center of each three-dimensional learning experience as they lead exhilarating investigations to uncover the mysteries of the universe.

At Val Vista Academy, we use G Suite for Education, and we are seeking your permission to provide and manage a G Suite for Education account for your child. G Suite for Education is a set of education productivity tools from Google including Gmail, Calendar, Docs, Classroom, and more used by tens of millions of students and teachers around the world. At Val Vista Academy, students will use their G Suite accounts to complete assignments, communicate with their teachers, and learn 21st-century digital citizenship skills. The link listed provides answers to common questions about G Suite for Education.

Click here

Meet our Middle School Team

Jenelle Rankin
5th-6th Grade Science Teacher
JRankin@ballcharterschools.org

Darren Turley
7th-8th Grade Math Teacher
dturley@ballcharterschools.org

Ryan Ellis
5th-6th Grade Math Teacher
REllis@ballcharterschools.org

Tyler Knowles
5th-6th Grade SS Teacher
TKnowles@ballcharterschools.org

Rachel Pacheco
7th-8th Grade SS Teacher
Rpacheco@ballcharterschools.org

Cheryl Hogan
7th-8th Grade Science Teacher
CHogan@ballcharterschools.org

Dena Harmon 
7th-8th Grade ELA Teacher
DHarmon@ballcharterschools.org

Ashley Moss 
5th-6th Grade ELA Teacher
Amoss@ballcharterschools.org

Angela Calandriello 
 Paraprofessional
Acalandriello@ballcharterschools.org

Visit Val Vista Academy today!